Categories
News

Regarding the Parents Observation Activity

The Parents Observation Activity will be held in April to May, please refer to the note given later.

The date of the Parents Observation Activity:

K1: 7/5, 8/5 or 9/5

K2: 23/4 or 25/4

K3: 29/4 or 30/4

Categories
News News

Regarding the ” Environmental-friendly Art Carnival” Activity

Easter is coming, our school will organize an ” Environmental-friendly Art Carnival” on 23rd March,2024 (Saturday) to promote environmental protection messages to parents and children, cultivate them to learn the concept of waste recycling and increase quality of parent-child time between parents and children. “Welcome to all parents with children under 6 years old to join.”

Regarding the Parent-child Adaptation Activities for 2024/25 School Year

Children can enjoy coming to school and reduce their fear to the new environment by diversified activities provided by our school. This can also establish a strong relationship between children, parents and the school. The following are the details of the activities.

6th February- Parent-Child Chinese New Year Carnival (Thank you for your active participation)

23rd March- Parent-Child Environmental-friendly Art Carnival

26th April- Parent-Child Physical Activity

31st May- Parent-Child Music Activity

8th June- Parent-Child Art Activity

6th July- Parent-Child Storytelling and Rhythm Activity

Categories
Parenting Tips Parenting Tips Parenting Tips Parenting Tips Parenting Tips Parenting Tips

Be cautious about home safety to prevent accidents from happening

Source: Emergency Room Specialist Dr. Cheung Hei Lok

There are hidden dangers in the home, and children can easily get injured with just one careless moment. What should be taken into consideration when arranging the home to prevent children from getting injured?

One common household accident is children getting their fingers caught. Sometimes, due to strong winds, doors may slam shut or someone may accidentally close the door, resulting in finger injuries. Therefore, it is important to always lock the door when entering or leaving, or at least keep the keys out of reach. Parents can also use adhesive materials to secure the door latch so that even if it closes, fingers won’t get caught, or use door stoppers to reduce the risk of finger injuries.

In the kitchen, it is advisable to install a kitchen gate or ensure that the kitchen door is securely closed, preventing children from entering the kitchen. Parents should also teach children about fire safety from a young age. Fire is both useful and dangerous, so it should be handled with great care.

In addition, medications can also pose a danger. Sometimes, even consuming a single pill can be risky for children, so medications should be stored properly, especially in a medicine cabinet. Medicine boxes should be placed in higher positions that are out of reach of children, ensuring greater safety.

We should also be cautious about children climbing on things, such as bunk beds, higher beds, and sofas, as they may fall. In addition to educating them, we can assess which areas pose a higher risk and place some cushioning there, so that even if they fall, it won’t be as severe. Of course, education is always the most important aspect, and we should also try to prevent them from accessing these dangerous areas.

In Hong Kong, living spaces are often small, and we tend to use tall cabinets to store many items. When there are too many things, it can increase the risk of the cabinet toppling over. Therefore, we should personally check whether the cabinet is easily swayed. When placing items, it is important to put heavier items at the bottom and lighter items on top, so that the cabinet is less likely to tip over.

Another important aspect of home safety is to install window grilles. Children may climb on windows, which poses a greater risk compared to general home safety issues, as it directly involves the risk of life-threatening situations.

How can parents help young children adapt to primary school life both psychologically and physically? 

https://www.shutterstock.com/zh/image-photo/asian-cute-primary-school-girl-her-1814367872

Source:  Professor Chiu Wing Kai, Chair Professor of Sociology at the Education University of Hong Kong.

It’s already been 5 months into 2023 and summer vacation will be coming soon, followed by the start of the new school year in September. For K3 students to start their primary school life. However, these students have spent most of their 3-year kindergarten education in online classes due to the pandemic, with little face-to-face interaction. How can parents help them adapt to their new academic and social life in terms of their psychological and physical well-being.

Students who are promoted to Primary 1 are at most at K2 level because they have not returned to school for at least one full year. There are many things they need to adapt to when transitioning from kindergarten to primary school. These include school schedules, daily routines, and learning styles that are vastly different from what they are used to. Kindergarten classes typically last for around 20 minutes, after which they move on to another subject, but in primary school, classes can be 35 minutes or longer, making it difficult for them to maintain their focus. All of these issues can create significant adaptation problems for young students.

So how can parents explain these changes to their children? Firstly, parents should not be too anxious, as many primary schools offer simulation courses and adaptation weeks for new students, as well as school visits. Primary schools are usually much larger than kindergartens, and young students may be excited about the various facilities and opportunities available to them. However, it is best to start talking to them once they begin school, as too much information too soon may be overwhelming. Simply telling them, “Yes, this is what school is like” is often enough.

Additionally, some things that young students may not be capable of now do not mean they cannot accomplish them, they just need time to grow and develop. Parents need to remember that every child has a different growth rate. After starting school, observe their emotional changes when they return home from school, and if you notice any issues, pay close attention to them.

It takes time for young children to adapt, but sometimes parents also need to adapt. In kindergarten, we refer to it as the Homeroom (regular class location), where one teacher leads the class, and children usually only see one or two teachers. If parents need to participate or collaborate with the school, they can simply find that teacher. In primary school, each subject has different teachers, so if any issues arise, parents need to consider how to communicate with each teacher.

Categories
Parents Zone Parents Zone Parents Zone

Can children strengthen their limb muscles at home?

Source: Registered Physiotherapist, Hui Wing Yee

Children have a heavy academic workload and spend more time at home, losing many opportunities to exercise. However, the development of children’s limb muscles is very important, and some stretching exercises for the waist and upper limbs can be done at home.

The first set of exercises is the lunge and twist, which helps to exercise the core muscles and lower limb muscles. First, open your feet to hip width, place your hands on both sides of your body, step out with your right foot to maintain a 90-degree angle on both knees, open your hands with palms facing forward, slowly turn to the right, and hold for two seconds. Then return to the original position with hands hanging down, repeating on both sides ten times.

The second set of exercises is quadruped limb raises. These exercises help strengthen our back and limb muscles. If possible, use a yoga mat to avoid putting pressure on your knees. First, start on all fours with your hands shoulder-width apart and your knees hip-width apart. Lift your right hand and left leg straight out, creating a horizontal line. Tighten your back and abdominal muscles, hold for two seconds, then switch to your left hand and right leg. Alternate between both sides for a total of ten reps.

How do you teach children correct pronunciation?

Source: Speech therapist, Miss Carley

When children learn a language, pronunciation is also an important aspect. There are many pronunciations in English that are not found in Cantonese and are difficult for both children and adults to master. How can parents teach children to pronounce English correctly? What are some tips to use?

The English tongue’s sounds can be difficult for children and even adults to master. We can try to use different cueing techniques to teach children to pronounce the sounds correctly. For example, parents can use visual cues, such as looking in the mirror with the child and showing him the tip of his tongue, placed between the two rows of teeth.

In addition, parents can also use verbal cues to clearly tell the child, “Put your tongue in the middle of your two rows of teeth,” so that they know what to do. When necessary, parents can also provide tactile cues, such as using a popsicle stick or spoon to touch the tongue and showing them where to place it for different sounds.

Parents can also try playing simple games with their children to train their listening skills, such as whether they can distinguish between right and wrong in terms of hearing. For example, intentionally mispronouncing a word: “Is ‘fank you’ correct? No, it’s not.” “Is ‘thank you’ correct? Yes, it is.”

This time we have to bite our teeth on the tongue or write the words “free” and “three” on a piece of paper, and then the parent reads out one of the words “three” “You show me which one” and reads “free”, “You show me which one”. If he knows how to distinguish, it will be clearer and easier for him to express himself.

Categories
Parenting Tips Parents Zone Parents Zone Parents Zone

What should I do when confronted with dishonesty in children?

Written by: Family Dynamics Psychological Counselor, Lai Shun Mei

Every time a child does homework, he or she falsely claims to have a stomachache, to go to the bathroom, or to go to sleep. Thousands of lies and excuses. Parents who value character development are naturally outraged because they have zero tolerance for dishonesty in their children. But why do children always avoid doing their homework? Why do they have to lie to cover it up?

Often, children avoid doing homework not because they don’t want to, but because they can’t. Children want to be good and smart, but when they find out they can’t do their homework, they think they are not smart enough. They can’t accept this and will lie to cover it up and avoid it. Generally speaking, children with normal intelligence but learning disabilities will have their academic performance affected to some degree, but they can excel in other areas as well. And regardless of their intelligence level, as long as they use the right approach, coupled with the right amount of training, they can also build the corresponding ability.

But why do people lie? When a person feels that he or she is in an uncomfortable situation, he or she will activate the defense mechanism to protect himself or herself. Lying is one of the ways to cope with a crisis by avoiding it. If parents want to help their children, they should allow them to tell the truth so that they can understand what their children really don’t understand.

How do you instill in children the courage to speak the truth? You have to let your child know that even if he is not smart enough, you will still love him so much, take him as your joy, be patient with him, and find ways to help him solve his problems together, thus building up his sense of security and making him feel at ease to reveal his inner uncertainties and difficulties. On the contrary, if his experience makes him think that he is not smart enough, which will lead to his mother’s anger and complaints, he will not dare to tell the truth and even activate his self-protection mechanism to protect himself with lies that adults can uncover at first glance.

At this point, the child will not only fail to protect himself but will also get into more trouble because the mother will be rehabilitated and will take the initiative to admit her mistake and promise not to lie again. But in fact, his homework difficulties are not resolved, creating a vicious cycle. Therefore, we encourage parents to learn to accept their children’s shortcomings so that they will have confidence in you and feel safe to open up to you.

Categories
Parents Zone

“Does learning mindfulness help in rediscovering the strengths of children?”

Source: Registered Clinical Psychologist, Yiu Fong Lee

Parents often encounter various behavioral problems with their children, which can be very troubling. For example, they ask their child to do homework, but the child doesn’t do it; they ask the child to eat, but the child sits there playing instead. When children display many uncooperative behaviors, parents become very angry and may use blaming or punishing methods to deal with them. In times of great distress, children become even more uncooperative because they feel their parents are annoying and only have negative evaluations, causing their behavior to become increasingly uncooperative and disobedient. In the practice of mindfulness, parents can learn to carefully observe what is happening at the moment without any criticism, and then try to connect with their child wholeheartedly and notice any good qualities.

In the mindfulness parenting group, we encourage parents to use their five senses, including sight, hearing, taste, touch, and smell, to experience mindfulness while eating. For example, taking a piece of raisin and putting it in your mouth, feeling its texture at that moment, and noticing any changes. Through our careful observation, we will discover that raisins are actually very sweet, and they will slowly melt in our mouths.

We can apply this mindset to our interactions with children in daily life, meaning that in addition to their uncooperative behavior, tantrums, or emotional outbursts, we should observe them carefully to see if there are any other things that other parents might not notice. In the mindful parenting group, one mother shared that besides being angry when her son didn’t listen to her, she also noticed that he was willing to help her carry heavy objects or food at times, showing that he cared for her.

Some mothers even mentioned that their sons may be sensitive to certain sounds, but during the New Year’s vegetable-grabbing game, they would try their best to grab the vegetables and bring them back to their mothers because they wanted them to be healthy and safe. The mothers felt that their children loved them very much, so they paid more attention to the good things their children did or the times when they cooperated. For example, if a child refused to do homework ten times but then was willing to do it or quietly read once, the mother would appreciate and tell the child, “You were very focused today, and I appreciate that.” Over time, the child will realize that he or she can do well, and the mother won’t be so annoying or only focus on the bad things the child does. Instead, the mother will focus on the good things the child does, and the child’s behavior will gradually get better.

In clinical practice, we often see that in parent-child interaction, when parents can sense the subtle aspects of daily life, such as what their children are willing to give, cherish, or when they exhibit good behavior, it can greatly help improve the interaction and relationship between the two. Additionally, when children feel positive about themselves, their confidence will also improve.

Learn English from games without difficulty

Source: Speech therapist, Miss Carley

Often, we want children to learn English vocabulary, which may be difficult and boring for them. In fact, parents can try to create some simple games for children to learn these English words through the process of playing.

The first game is called “Covering the Card.” It is similar to the card game we usually play. Parents can write some words that children need to learn on white paper and draw more sheets with laughing faces. How do I play it? To begin, we must mix the cards and distribute them evenly to each player; for example, each parent and child will receive four cards. Then, take turns playing the top card. For example, if this card is drawn, read out the word, explain its meaning, and use the word in a sentence. But if a laughing face is drawn, the player needs to quickly slap the card. If the player is slower, they must take all the cards and keep them in their hands. The player with no cards in their hand wins.

The second game is called “passing three levels.” It is actually similar to the game we usually play, but this time we have pre-written some vocabulary words in the nine squares. Then, we take turns with the child to draw some crosses or circles. For example, if I draw a cross here, I need to read, explain, and make a sentence with the vocabulary word in this square. Then it’s the parent’s turn; they might use a circle, just like in “passing three levels.” The first person to connect three cards in a straight-line win.

The third game is a memory matching game. Parents can write some Chinese characters that children need to learn on white paper and write each character twice. Parents can randomly place pairs of word cards on the table. Then parents can ask the children to take a look and remember them, and then flip the cards over. Parents and children take turns flipping over two cards. If they match, the child is asked to use the word to make a sentence, explain its meaning, and read it out loud.

分類
最新消息

東華三院全力支持12月10日區議會選舉

各位家長及小朋友:

東華三院各幼稚園及特殊學校校長早前特意為12月10日的區議會選舉拍攝短片,呼籲各位市民履行公民責任,踴躍投票。

12月10日,區選齊投票,攜手共建更美好更繁榮的香港。

東華三院譚錦球伉儷幼稚園

分類
家長錦囊

家長如何幫助幼童在心理同生理上適應小學生活? 

資料來源:香港教育大學社會學講座教授趙永佳教授

2023年已過了5個月,暑假很快又會到,然後又到9月開學日。這意味著一班K3同學準備迎接小學生活,但這班同學過去3年幼稚園生涯,大多都在疫情下的網課經過,甚少面授課程,又少機會與人接觸。家長可以如何幫助他們在心理和生理上適應升小生活?

升小一的同學最多只是等於K2程度,因為他們最少有一整年沒有回學校上課,而從幼稚園到小學,本來就已經有很多東西要適應,例如上學時間、在學校裡一些生活上的細節,甚至整個周期和學習模式都不同了。幼稚園一節課大約20分鐘左右,然後已經要轉另一節課,但是在小學可能是35分鐘或以上,很難維持集中力,所有這些問題,都會對小朋友造成很大的適應問題。

如何跟小朋友說明幼小交接的變化才是最好呢?首先家長不要太緊張,有很多小學會舉辦模擬課程,會有適應週,亦可參觀學校。小學比幼稚園大,小朋友可能會感到很高興,因為有很多不同的設備,他可能會有很多期待。但是我覺得有些事情要先開始才知道,太早和他說太多也沒有用,只能告訴他:「對,學校就是這樣。」

另外,有些事情小朋友現在還未能做到,並不代表他做不到,要待他長大。家長很多時候都是這樣,有些事情是沒有辦法,不能勉強的,而是要等待小朋友成長到那個階段才能做到,要記住每個小朋友的成長速度都不同。剛開學後他們放學回來,可觀察他情感的轉變,如果看到他有這些情況就要注意了。

小朋友的適應是需要時間的,但有時家長也要適應。在幼稚園我們稱為Homeroom(固定上課地點),由一名老師帶領,所以小朋友只會經常看到一兩位老師。如果在家長參與或家校協作時,很簡單只要找回那位老師便可。在小學,每個科目都有不同的老師,所以有時候出現狀況時,我們就要思考怎樣和老師溝通。

家居安全要留神 以免意外生

資料來源:急症室專科醫生張喜樂

家居暗藏危機,只要一次不小心,小朋友就很容易受傷。家居設置有甚麼要注意,以防小朋友受傷?

一般比較常見的家居意外就是小朋友夾到手指,可能有時候因大風,吹至門關或是有人開門的時候,也會夾到手指的。所以我不論出入也好,都要先鎖門,至少將鑰匙放高一點。家長或者可以用一些膠狀的東西卡著門關,就算真的關門時他都不會夾到手指,或者用門栓來減少夾到手指的風險。

在廚房方面,最好就加上一道廚房門閘或是廚房門也要關好,讓小朋友不能進入廚房。家長也要從小就教導小朋友用火方面的知識,火是一件很危險的事,很有用也很危險,故要很小心地處理火。

另外,藥物亦是危險的一環。有時小朋友吃一顆已經很危險,所以藥物真是要妥善放置,特別要放置在藥櫃內。藥盒也要放到較高的位置,小朋友接觸不到的地方,這樣就會更安全。

我們也要小心小朋友喜歡爬來爬去,例如爬雙層床、較高的床及沙發等,有時他們可能會跌倒。除了我們要教育他外,我們也可以去想清楚哪些是高危位置,我們就在那些位置加些軟墊跌倒也不會那麼傷。當然教育都是最重要的,或是不要讓他們有機會,接觸這些危險的地方。

香港單位狹小,我們也喜歡利用高櫃去放置很多物件。當東西過多時,可能使櫃倒下,所以我們自己也要去檢查,這個櫃是否容易搖動。如果要放東西,要放置得上輕下重,這樣櫃就不容易倒下。

家居安全另一重要的是窗要裝上窗花,因為小朋友會爬窗,那個危險性相比一般家居安全問題更加大,因為會直接牽涉到生命危險。

如何教小朋友正確發音?

資料來源:言語治療師Miss Carley

小朋友學習語言,發音也是重要一環。英文的很多發音是廣東話裡沒有的,不論對小朋友或大人,都是較難掌握。家長可以如何教導小朋友正確發音呢?有甚麼小法寶可以使用?

英語裡的咬舌音對於小朋友甚至大人來說,也是比較難掌握的。我們可以嘗試運用不同的提示技巧,教導小朋友正確的發音。用這發音作例子,其實家長可以嘗試用一些視覺的提示,譬如可以和小朋友一起望著鏡子,讓他看見自己的舌頭,放置於兩排牙齒的中間。

另外,家長也可以用口頭提示,我們要明確向小朋友說:「你的舌頭要放在兩排牙齒中間。」讓他知道要怎樣做。有必要的時候,家長可以加上所謂觸覺的提示。譬如用雪條棒或用匙羹這樣碰著舌頭,要放在兩排牙齒中間,讓他知道不同的發音部位,舌頭要如何放置。

家長也可以嘗試和小朋友玩些簡單遊戲,來訓練他們的聽辨能力,就是小朋友在聽覺方面能否辨認得到對或不對,譬如家長故意讀錯字:「fank you對不對?不對」「thank you對不對?對了」這次我們牙齒要咬著舌頭,又或在紙寫上free和three這兩個字,然後家長讀出其中一個three 「你指給我看是哪一個」;Free「你又指給我看是哪一個」。如果他懂得分辨,在表達上來就更加清楚和容易。

分類
家長園地 家長園地 家長園地 家長園地 家長園地 家長園地 家長園地 家長園地 家長園地 家長錦囊 家長錦囊 家長錦囊 家長錦囊 家長錦囊 家長錦囊

在家也可增強兒童四肢肌肉?

資料來源:註冊物理治療師許詠怡

小朋友學業繁重,留在家的時間增加了,失去不少做運動的機會。但小朋友的四肢肌肉發展非常重要,其實在家也可以做一些伸展腰部和上肢的拉筋運動。

第一組是弓步轉體 (Lung and twist),這個動作有助鍛鍊核心肌肉和下肢肌肉。首先,雙腳打開至臀部闊度,雙手放於身體兩旁,踏出右腳使兩邊膝頭維持90度,打開雙手,手心向前,慢慢地向右轉,維持兩秒。然後回到原地雙手垂下,回復原狀,左右腳各做十次。

第二組是對角伸展 (Quadruped limb raises),這套動作有助我們強化背部和四肢肌肉,如果可以的話有瑜伽墊就不會壓到膝蓋。首先,四肢撐地,兩隻手打開至肩膀闊度再撐著地下,兩個膝蓋打開至臀部闊度再撐著地下。我們將右手舉高並伸直,再將左腳舉高向後伸直,形成一個水平線的狀態。同時收緊背部和腹部,維持兩秒,左右兩邊互相交替做十下便可。

分類
Parenting Tips

How do you teach children correct pronunciation?

Source: Speech therapist, Miss Carley

When children learn a language, pronunciation is also an important aspect. There are many pronunciations in English that are not found in Cantonese and are difficult for both children and adults to master. How can parents teach children to pronounce English correctly? What are some tips to use?

The English tongue’s sounds can be difficult for children and even adults to master. We can try to use different cueing techniques to teach children to pronounce the sounds correctly. For example, parents can use visual cues, such as looking in the mirror with the child and showing him the tip of his tongue, placed between the two rows of teeth.

In addition, parents can also use verbal cues to clearly tell the child, “Put your tongue in the middle of your two rows of teeth,” so that they know what to do. When necessary, parents can also provide tactile cues, such as using a popsicle stick or spoon to touch the tongue and showing them where to place it for different sounds.

Parents can also try playing simple games with their children to train their listening skills, such as whether they can distinguish between right and wrong in terms of hearing. For example, intentionally mispronouncing a word: “Is ‘fank you’ correct? No, it’s not.” “Is ‘thank you’ correct? Yes, it is.”

This time we have to bite our teeth on the tongue or write the words “free” and “three” on a piece of paper, and then the parent reads out one of the words “three” “You show me which one” and reads “free”, “You show me which one”. If he knows how to distinguish, it will be clearer and easier for him to express himself.

面對小朋友不誠實的行為時該怎麼處理?

資料來源:家庭動力心理輔導員賴舜薇 

小朋友每次做功課,都訛稱自己肚痛、要上洗手間或想睡覺,千萬種謊言與藉口。重視品格培養的家長自然會感到嬲怒,因為他們對子女不誠實的行為都是零容忍的。但為甚麼孩子總是逃避做功課?為甚麼他們又要以謊言去掩飾呢?

小朋友逃避做功課,很多時不是他們不願意做,而是做不到。小朋友都會希望自己又乖巧又聰明,但當他們發現自己做不到功課,便會認為自己不夠聰明。他無法接受,便會以說謊來掩飾和逃避。一般而言,智力正常但有學習障礙的小朋友,他們的學業表現都會受到一定程度的影響,但在其他方面,他們一樣可以表現出色。而且不論他們智力水平高低,只要使用對的方法,加上適量訓練,他們亦能建立相應能力。

但人為甚麼會說謊呢?當一個人覺得自己處於不安的環境時,便會啟動防衛機制保護自己。而說謊便是其中一種以逃避方式來應對危機的表現。如果家長希望幫到子女,便要讓他勇於說真話,這樣家長才能理解子女真正不明白的地方。

如何令子女勇於說真說話?你要讓子女知道,即使他不夠聰明,你依然會這麼愛她,以他為喜樂,對他有耐性,並且會一起想辦法協助他解決困難,從而建立他的安全感,讓他安心透露內心的不明白與困難。但相反,若其經驗令他認為因他不夠聰明,會引來媽媽對他發脾氣及埋怨,他便不敢說真話,甚至啟動自我保護機制,用大人一看便能拆穿的謊言保護自己。

這時候孩子不但無法保護自己,更會惹來更大的麻煩,因為媽媽會更生氣,便會主動認錯,又會承諾不再說謊。惟事實上,他功課的困難並未解決,形成造成惡性循環。因此,我們鼓勵家長學習接納子女的不足,令子女對你有信心,覺得安全,自然對你敞開心扉。

學習靜觀有助重新認識孩子優點?

資料來源:註冊臨床心理學家饒方莉

家長們平時遇到小朋友各種不同的行為問題,都感到很困擾。例如叫他做功課,他又不做;叫他吃飯,他又坐在那裡玩。當小朋友出現很多不合作的時間時,家長就很生氣,可能用一些責備的方式或懲罰的方式去對待小朋友。在很困擾的時候,小朋友也更加不合作,因為他覺得父母很煩,只有一些負面的評價,他的行為就變得日益不合作與不聽話。在靜觀的練習裡,可以幫助父母學習細心地留意此時此刻發生的事,不帶任何的批判感受一下,然後試試用心地跟孩子連繫,留意有沒有一些好的特點。

在靜觀教養的小組裡,我們讓家長們透過靜觀進食,透過五官包括視覺、聽覺、味覺、觸覺和嗅覺去感受。例如一粒提子乾,這一刻放進嘴巴裡,感受一下它的質感是怎樣的?它有甚麼變化呢?原來經我們細心的觀察,就會發現原來提子乾是這麽甜的,慢慢放入嘴巴裡面會慢慢融化。

我們就把這種心態轉換去跟孩子的相處裡,也就是說在日常生活裡,除了他的不合作、發脾氣或鬧情緒外,細心地觀察一下他,去觀察他有沒有其他爸媽是留意不到的東西。在靜觀教養小組裡有媽媽就分享,她留意到除了對兒子不聽她説話時感到生氣外,有些時候很願意去幫她拿一些很重的物件或食物,她覺得兒子是疼愛自己的。

甚至乎有些媽媽會提及兒子平常對聲音可能有些敏感,不過新年搶生菜環節,他很努力地搶生菜回來給媽媽,因為他很想媽媽健康平安。媽媽感受到孩子是很疼愛自己的,媽媽從而在日常生活中,留意多點孩子有甚麼做得好的或者合作的時間。例如當你叫了十次叫他不做功課 ,他有一次願意做功課或者有一次願意默書,媽媽都會很欣賞地告訴孩子:「你今天真是很用心,媽媽很欣賞你。」久而久之,孩子也會感受到自己可以做好,而媽媽也不是那麼煩人,也不是只看重我不好的地方,她懂得欣賞我好的地方,他亦會慢慢改善其行為。

我們在臨床裡都看到親子互動關係中,當父母能夠感受到日常生活細微的地方,孩子有甚麼是願意付出?願意去愛惜父母?或者他有甚麼細微的行為做得好的時候,其實很能幫助兩個人的互動和親子關係,而小朋友自己也感受正面一點,他們的信心也會好一點。

從遊戲中學習英語無難度

資料來源:言語治療師Miss Carley

很多時候我們要小朋友學習一些英文詞彙,對他們來說可能是很困難和沉悶的事。其實家長可以嘗試自製一些簡單的小遊戲,跟小朋友從遊戲的過程中學習這些英文生字。

第一個遊戲叫做「蓋棉胎」,其實跟我們一向玩開的啤牌蓋棉胎遊戲都有少許類似。家長可以將一些小朋友要學的生字寫在白紙上。另外,我們再寫多數張是哈哈笑的樣子。那玩法是怎樣呢?我們首先要將紙卡弄得均勻,然後就平均分配給玩家,例如家長和小朋友每人有四張,然後輪流發出最頂層的卡,例如發出這張紙卡,就要讀出這個字並解釋這個字的意思,以及用這個字作一句句子。但是如果出到一張哈哈笑的樣子,就要鬥快拍下去。如果是較慢的玩家,就要取走所有卡,並收到自己處,手上最快沒有卡的就為之勝出。

第二個遊戲就是過三關,其實跟我們平時玩的過三關都類似,不過今次在這九格當中,我們就預先寫好一些生字,然後就跟小朋友輪流畫一些交叉或圓圈。例如我畫交叉在這裡,我就要用這格的生字去讀出來,解釋和作一句句子。然後到家長,家長可能就用圓形,像平時玩過三關一樣,最快三個連成直線就贏。

第三個遊戲就是記憶配對字卡,家長可以將一些小朋友要學的生字就寫在白色紙上面,每一個字就要寫兩次,家長可以將一對對的字卡,隨意地放在桌上,之後可以請小朋友看一次並記著,然後就把字卡反轉。家長和小朋友就輪流地反轉其中兩張字卡,如果反轉到一樣的話,那就請小朋友用這個詞語,去作一句句子和解釋,還有讀出來。

教養孩子出現分歧時 緊記「迴避不可恥且有用」


資料來源:家庭動力心理治療師阮慧敏

在親子互動裡,父母的成長背景、教育程度或者原生家庭都有不同,所以基本上父母對某件事有不同的看法,其實是很正常的。

當真的有不同意見時,父母應找一個平靜的環境,互相傾談自己的角度,各自對問題的看法。無論在甚麼情況下,我們都不希望,父母在孩子面前直接爭吵。舉個例子爸爸可以對媽媽解釋:「我自己不開心的時候或工作壓力大時,我都會用手機發洩及減壓,所以我會覺得小朋友玩手機是沒有問題的。」

而太太也可以對丈夫表示:「其實我希望你支持我,很希望你能夠諒解,其實我照顧小朋友也是很辛苦的。」大家可以在一個平靜及平等的環境下先商量。其實在親職的環境裡,父母的步伐必須一致的。

舉個例子爸媽就好像在跳舞,爸爸踏前,媽媽就要退後。爸爸舉高雙手,媽媽就要轉圈,這是一個很自然的步伐。如果能夠配合得這麼順暢,不只跳舞的二人能樂在其中,甚至是旁邊的觀舞者也會陶醉在舞蹈中。但是如果大家各不相讓,一個人踏前,另一個人也要踏前,另一個人希望你能夠配合,而你卻只堅持自己的立場,怎樣都不配合,這場舞蹈就一點也不精彩。

在家庭的環境裡,小朋友往往就是最忠實與忠心的觀舞者,永遠站在大堂中央位置觀看爸媽怎樣去跳舞。所以如果父母跳得一團糟,這位觀舞者也會坐立不安,而整個氣氛也會緊張起來,問題也會更加多,在舞池的爸媽也會互相踐踏

踐踏得更痛。

當真的出現水火不容的情況,父母各持己見,鬧得怒火中燒。我們會提議隨便一方離開現場,不是輸贏和面子的問題,而是讓大家透透氣,伸展一下。大家在家庭環境裡不是一種角力,因為受害者必定會是小朋友。所以在家庭環境裡如果父母是怒火中燒各不相讓時,其實有一方需要先退下來,調理一下怒火離開現場,這樣會比較好一點。